Weekly Photo Challenge: Sea

Weekly Photo Challenge

by The Daily Post

Wöchentliche Foto Herausforderung

von The Daily Post

I think to understand my relation ship with the sea you first have to understand where I am coming from.

If you take the time to go to google maps and see where Switzerland is located you will notice (maybe even know) that we do not have the ocean for us.

I grew up in a landlocked country and the view of mountains and serene lakes with little or no movement at all was all I required.

I actually never understood why people go about the ocean, of course I was curious but I didn’t experience a pull towards it.

– – –

My first few experiences with the ocean where great disappointments. The first time was when I was about 8 or 10 and the family was on a trip to Italy. We arrived at night and of course I wanted to jump in to the water right away. At night. if you have never seen the ocean, it just looks like a lake… because you can’t really see the vastness of it. Also the salt water was quite a surprise.  The second disappointment was in France during a language study course… but it was late fall… everything grey and the fog obscured not only the view but my experience.

– – –

Now I do not regret these disappointments, probably they were influenced by my fears and uncertainties. It made my first real experience of the ocean even better and more special for me. This was during this year whilst staying in Lisbon.

– – –

baixa-mar – alta-maré

 like the ocean, my emotion

swelling up and down

reaching the shore

with a soft splash

or a crashing bore

but the wind blows my

worries away

and the ocean

draws out 

the poisonous thoughts

of inadequacy 

Ich denke, um meine Beziehung mit dem Meer verstehen zu können, müsst ihr verstehen, woher ich komme.

Wenn ihr euch die Zeit nehmt, um mit Google Maps zu überprüfen, wo sich die Schweiz befindet, werden ihr feststellen (vielleicht sogar wissen), dass wir kein Meer haben.

Ich wuchs in einem Binnenland auf und die Aussicht auf die Berge und ruhigen Seen mit wenig oder überhaupt keine Bewegung war alles, was ich benötigte.

Eigentlich verstand ich die Menschen nie, welche das Meer anzog, natürlich war ich neugierig, aber ich habe nicht die Erfahrung gemacht das es mich anzieht.

– – –

Meine ersten Erfahrungen mit dem Meer, waren große Enttäuschungen. Das erste Mal war, als ich etwa 8 oder 10 war und mit der Familie auf einer Reise nach Italien. Wir kamen nachts an und natürlich wollte ich sofort ins Wasser springen. Nachts, wenn man das Meer noch nie gesehen hat, es sieht aus wie ein See … Man kann die Weite nicht erfassen. Auch das Salzwasser war eine Überraschung. Die zweite Enttäuschung war in Frankreich während einer Sprachreise natürlich … aber es war Spätherbst … alles grau und der Nebel verdeckt nicht nur den Blick, sondern auch meine Erfahrung.

– – –

Diese Enttäuschungen bedauere ich nicht, wahrscheinlich wurden sie von meinen Ängsten und Unsicherheiten beeinflusst. Es machte meine erste richtige Erfahrung des Ozeans noch besser und etwas besonderes für mich. Dies war in diesem Jahr während des Aufenthalts in Lissabon.

– – –

baixa-mar – alta-maré

  wie das Meer, meine Emotion

Schwellen nach oben und unten

Erreichen die Küste

mit einem weichen Spritzer

oder eine krachenden Brandung

 

aber der Wind bläst meine

Sorgen weg

und das Meer

zieht aus mir

die giftigen Gedanken

der Unzulänglichkeit


 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Sea

  1. I love your insights and your photographs as well. It such a refreshing take for someone like who’s been exposed to sea all my life. 🙂 I hope that we both discover what is more to love about the seas regardless of the differences in our experiences. 🙂

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.