Impossible | Unmögliche Polaroid -DIY

Instant in Crafting

Moment in Handwerk

I have hinted or written about it already. New project in the year 2014 is portrait photography. Something I didn’t do it until now for one reason because of the laws attached to the personal image (release, etc.) and my social-awkwardness (for lack of a better word for it – or not coming to the conclusions that I am bat-shit-crazy).

– – –

Now with these portraits I try to focus on Impossible-Project/Polaroid Film/Camera Combination. But probably, once I have a model in front of me, I won’t be leaving it at that. So not an exclusive deal. I have spent the last few days knee deep in some YouTube videos explaining this and that about studio, off-camera flash photography and the like. Next step was to check out the possible DIY options and though there are many, till a few hours ago, I thought well I have to go out to shop for stuff anyway.

– – –

Then I had several good ideas at once and put them in to play and they needed testing. I already procured some new gimmicks before hand.

Three images that have a certain similarity (yay!) and still distinct differences. I can now predict, avoid and most importantly improvise my way out some light situations.

Ich habe bereits angedeutet oder klar darüber geschrieben: Mein Projekt im Jahr 2014 ist die Porträtfotografie . Etwas das ich bis heute nicht versucht habe. Die Gesetze für das persönliche Bild (Freigabe, etc.) und meine sozialen Unbeholfenheit ( aus Mangel an einem besseren Wort dafür – oder nicht zu der Schlussfolgerungen zu kommen, dass ich ich verrückt bin) haben mich davon abgehalten.

Jetzt mit diesen Porträts spezialisiere ich mich auf Impossible-Project/Polaroid Film/Kamera- Kombination. Aber wahrscheinlich, sobald ich ein Modell vor mir hab, werde ich es dabei nicht blassen. Also nicht ein exklusiver Deal. Ich habe die letzten Tage knietief in einigen YouTube-Videos welche dies und das erklären über Studio Aufnahmen,  Blitzlichter und dergleichen. Nächster Schritt war sich die möglichen Optionen für Do-It-Yourself anzusehen, obwohl es viele gibt bis vor ein paar Stunden hatte ich noch keine Idee, oder müsste sowieso was einkaufen gehen.

– – –

Dann hatte ich einige gute Ideen auf einmal und setzte das ganze zusammen doch es benötigte Tests. Einige neue Gimmicks hab ich schon zuvor angeschafft.

Drei Bilder, die eine gewisse Ähnlichkeit haben (yeah!) und immer noch deutliche Unterschiede aufweisen. Jetzt kann ich einige Lichtsituation vorhersagen, vermeiden und vor allem improvisieren.

2014-02-21 23.45.04
a cut up and taped on 35mm film roll, translucent is my flash diffuser (probably too opaque)
PZ_93_diffuesdflash_me
with the flash undiffused I would be clearly vissable, but I try only to trigger the off-camera one and let only a bit from the on-camera flash bleed through. More than here though.
2014-02-21 23.45.46
slave-trigger, optical. Pretty cheap thing, looks for a flash in the room and triggers a second one.
2014-02-21 23.45.27
non descript cheap and old flash my off-camera light
PZ_94_full2ndflash_me
The Polaroid flash diffused and the off-camera one full strength not diffused
(you see over exposed face and the black curtain almost greyish/blueish)

1393016189287
some pretty sturdy (but not too sturdy) piece of plastic I had lying around and a cardboard ring (on my way to a baby diffuser, aka. beauty dish)

2014-02-21 23.46.07
thin rise-paper cover. (all glued in place due to the fact that I am lazy)
2014-02-21 22.56.56
before I put the sheeting on top I lined it with aluminium foil used handy spray on glue
this is the slot for the flash, cut at the last moment and to a almost press fit.
PZ_95_diffuesd2ndflash_me
Final Result
On-Camera Flash diffused / off camera soft-box/beauty dish

Leave a Reply

