Weekly Photo Challenge

by The Daily Post

Wöchentliche Foto Herausforderung

von The Daily Post

I think any long time photographer that keeps his digital catalog in tact knows the curse of nostalgic feelings.

Partly I hate that I have to be (if I would like to keep a good overview of my images I need to go through them) reminded of past relations, falling outs with friends change in behavior and hobbies. Yet on the other hand it shows how far I have come in a short time… how I improved my life, my skills as well as my take on past matters.

So nostalgia is a double edged sword but I slowly find the grip

and learn how to swing it to my advantage.

Most of the times I enjoy looking back in to the past, being reminded about moments forgotten.

– – –

I just recently had to go through my old images, from the start… to re-tag and re-evaluate some event pictures for a book I am helping out with. 

Sometimes forgetting is a blessing… but the ability to be reminded of it at a later time in your life, when you have new found security or happiness can be advantageous.

Ich denke jeder der Langezeit Fotografen der seinen digitalen Katalog in Ordnung hält kennt den Fluch der nostalgische Gefühle.

Teilweise hasse ich es, dass ich immer wieder an vergangene Beziehungen, streit mit Freunden, Veränderung im Verhalten und Hobbys erinnert werde (doch ich muss, um einen guten Überblick über meine Bilder zu behalten, diese immer wieder anschauen). Doch auf der anderen Seite zeigt es, wie weit ich in kurzer Zeit gekommen bin … wie ich mein Leben verbessert hab, meine Fähigkeiten sowie mein Gedanken zu meiner Geschichte. 

So Nostalgie ist ein zweischneidiges Schwert, aber ich finde und lerne den richtigen Griff,

wie ich es es zu meinem Vorteil schwinge. 

Meistens mag ich es in die Vergangenheit zu blicken, erinnert werden an vergessene Momente. 

– – – 

Ich musste vor kurzem durch meine alten Bilder gehen, von Anfang an … neu markieren und neu bewerten, einige Event Bilder für ein Buch bei dem ich aushelfen darf. 

Manchmal ist vergessen ein Segen … aber die Fähigkeit, es zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt in meinem Leben daran erinnert zu werden, mit neu gefundener Sicherheit oder Glück, kann vorteilhaft sein.

dusty_portrait_by_Picture_Bandit
My brother 5 years ago, dusty layer added digitally…

 

