Life Update – Lebens Aktualisierung

real life, love, work & art”

“Leben, Liebe, Arbeit & Kunst”

Home Again 

It was a shorter visit than I expected, I will go in to that in detail a bit later. The Images are only a little preview. I did a roll of film with my Contina Zeiss, this will take some time tough. I also made some digital shots with my Canon Power Shot S110. 

– – –

Best moment was when I realized that I didn’t have any hot-water to shower in the hostel I was staying. Yeah! On the first day the weather was just perfect, compared to what was predicted (RAIN). I strolled around the city for a bit, my favorite past time was getting lost and walking in circles.

– – –

Another small anecdote is that I took a short cut through a galleria/mall and, without thinking, made a snapshot with my analog camera. Dangerous! I walked straight out, not thinking anything of the alarm that went off in the background. Yet it concerned me. Outside I got cut-off by a security guard who insisted that I delete the image. I explained him that it’s not possible because I still work with film. After a talk with his boss, where as the boss had to call the higher-ups to allow me to keep my camera. I think I was close to tears… probably helped that I was a tourist and I assured them not to use that one image (not even of a shop, or with recognizable faces) . That was a close call, because I only brought the one analog camera…

– – –

Why was it a shorter visit? At first I thought I stay till Sunday, Saturday was free to explore and photograph.  Then I was at the concert of Soap&Skin at it was better that I could have dreamed… I reverted to an old habit of mine. Leave on a high note.

Also the weather changed for the worse, in the evening there was a soccer match and the W-Lan in the hostel didn’t work properly … also Dortmund has little to none cinemas that show movies in their original version with subtitles…

After all the sums where done I decided to go and didn’t regret it. It was a nice short visit… and an awesome concert experience.

Home Again 

Es war ein kürzerer Besuch als ich erwartet hatte werde später noch ins Detail gehen warum genau. Die Bilder sind nur ein kleiner Vorgeschmack. Ich habe einen Film mit meiner Contina Zeiss gefüllt, bis die entwickelt ist wird es einige Zeit dauern. Ich habe aber auch einige digitale Aufnahmen mit meiner Canon Power Shot S110.

– – –

Einer der besten Momente war als ich bemerkte, dass ich kein heißes Wasser hatte zum duschen. Yeah! Am ersten Tag war das Wetter einfach perfekt, im Vergleich zu dem was vorhergesagt wurde (REGEN). Ich schlenderte durch die Stadt, mein beliebter Zeitvertreib des sich verlieren in Kreisen zu gehen.

– – –

Ein weiterer kleine Anekdote ist, dass ich eine Abkürzung durch eine Galleria / Einkaufszentrum nahm und ohne nachzudenken machte einen Schnappschuss mit meiner analogen Kamera. Gefährlich!  Ich ging gerade heraus, nichts denkenden was den Alarm im Hintergrund anging. Doch es betraf mich. Außerhalb bin ich von einem Wachmann angehalten worden. Er bestand darauf dass ich das Bild das ich aufgenommen hab lösche. Ich erklärte ihm, dass es nicht möglich ist, weil ich noch mit Film arbeite. Nach einem Gespräch mit seinem Chef, und sein Chef musste die Firmenführung anrufen um mir zu erlauben, meine Kamera zu behalten. Ich glaube, ich war den Tränen nahe … wahrscheinlich hat es geholfen, dass ich ein Tourist war, und ich versicherte ihnen,  das Bild nicht zu verwenden. Ein Bild, nicht einmal ein Geschäft, oder mit erkennbaren Gesichter. Das war knapp, weil ich hatte nur die eine Analog Kamera.

– – –

Warum war es eine kürzere Besuch? Zuerst dachte ich, das ich bis Sonntag bleibe, war am Samstag frei zu erkunden und zu fotografieren. Dann war ich auf dem Konzert von Soap & Skin. Es war besser als ich erhofft habe … Ich kehrte zu einer alten Gewohnheit von mir zurück. Gehe wenn es am Schönsten ist.

Auch das Wetter hat sich zum Schlechteren verändert, am Abend gab es ein Fußballspiel und das W-Lan in der Herberge hat nicht richtig funktioniert  … Auch Dortmund hat wenig bis zu keinem Kinos das Filme zeigt in ihrer Originalfassung mit Untertiteln …

Nach all diesen Faktoren hab ich beschlossen zu gehen und habe es nicht bereut. Es war ein schöner kurzer Besuch … und eine tolles Konzert-Erlebnis.

SoapAndSkinDortmund

Soap & Skin

IMG_1543-Canon PowerShot S110-SIG

IMG_1500-Canon PowerShot S110-SIG
IMG_1495-Canon PowerShot S110-SIG

2 thoughts on “Life Update – Lebens Aktualisierung

  1. I got stopped once. I was walking in the underground walkways of Huston, Texas. I was taking shots for my Photography Journalism Class.
    I took a picture of stairs that led into some building. A security guard stopped me wanted to know why I was taking the picture. He let me go, but on my way back when he wasn’t there, I took the picture.
    Two men in suits, and eating ice cream cones, scolded me for taking the picture and threatened to take my camera. They didn’t. I think they were just being tougher than they were.
    Some people just don’t get the point of creativity.
    I’m glad you didn’t lose your camera.

Leave a Reply

