“The Passport”

“Der Pass”

How you can not tell what, when and if you are going to-do something in the future is a new found pleasure in my life. To my own surprise I am planning a journey; Nothing that will keep me in my country or my continent. It will be the farthest I ever traveled. For a big part I am pleased that I waited this long, to wait for my own assuredness and security of character to undertake this. I am also glad that, though there were external motives, the decision to go through with it was actually my own.

Now you might be thinking things like “whoohoop” and “Big Deal”., Maybe for the well traveled people my excitement, nervousness and desire to plan and anticipate, are considered noobish and too much. Yet I feel, for the first time, a building excitement for a longer journey; Not the usual feeling of dread. I am not forced into this, it is not required, it is just an opportunity I can’t and hopefully won’t turn down (read: hope I won’t get cold feet).

All of this won’t be happening for a while. The year will be 2013 but it already begins now. Ordering the first passport of my life. Where I am going and what I am going to-do with it? Let’s just keep that a secret till I have some images to back up my claims. And maybe a good story or two to tell.

– – –

The second image is my Swiss ID. Eight years have past between these two images. It lets me realize the changes I underwent these years.

Wie man nie sicher sein kann, was, wann und ob man etwas in Zukunft tun wird ist ein neu gefundener Gefallen in meinem Leben. Zu meiner eigenen Überraschung plane ich eine Reise, nichts was mich in meinem Land oder meinem Kontinent halten wird. Es wird weiter sein als ich je gereist bin. Für einen großen Teil freue ich mich, dass ich so lange gewartet habe zu reisen bis ich die Zuversicht und Sicherheit des Charakters gefunden habe. Ich bin auch froh, dass, obwohl es externe Motive hat, die Entscheidung zu gehen war meine eigene.

Jetzt denkt ihr vielleicht Dinge wie “und wenn schon” und “keine grosse Sache”. Vielleicht für die weit gereisten Menschen ist meine Aufregung, Nervosität, Lust zu planen und zu antizipieren amateurisch und zu viel. Doch ich fühle zum ersten Mal wachsende Begeisterung für eine längere Reise, nicht das übliche Gefühl der Angst. Ich werde nicht dazu gezwungen, es ist nicht erforderlich, es ist nur eine Gelegenheit, die ich nicht ausschlagen kann und hoffentlich bekomme ich keine kalten Füße.

All das wird für eine Weile nicht geschehen. Das Jahr wird 2013 sein, aber es beginnt schon jetzt. Mit der Bestellung des ersten Pass meines Lebens. Wohin ich gehe und was ich mit ihm vorhabe? Lasse ich ein Geheimniss bis ich einige Bilder hab um meine  Behauptungen zu bestätigen und vielleicht eine gute Geschichte oder zwei zu erzählen.

– – –

Das zweite Bild ist mein Schweizer ID. Acht Jahre sind vergangen zwischen diesen beiden Bildern. Es lässt mich  die Veränderungen erkennen, die ich erlebte in diesen Jahren.

 

Text from 24/10/12
