“Caffenol, or developing film with coffee and Vitamin C”

“Caffenol, oder Film entwicklung mit Café und Vitamin C”

A year ago I took the step of self-developing my analog film. I would like to share with you how this worked out and maybe re-vamp the caffenol hype. I think most of you have heard or read about it anyways so this is old news in a way.

– – –

Below you have links to the professionals in this matter

– – –

I have made the weirdest experience with caffenol. Usually, with anything DIY or crafts, you get better over time. For me my first attempt at developing a roll of film with a caffenol recipe worked out great (some pics below) but the 3 following attempts did not work out. It was very disappointing after all this work to get empty rolls of film. I then retired the practice because I could not figure out where I went wrong. But to this day I still have the equipment handy and I think that the experience was a worthwhile one. For anyone who has not yet developed their own film maybe a course or a rented lab would be better to get yourself started than going almost all out with a at home developing kit that you only use a couple of times.

– – –

Now I have to share some of the caffenol pictures I discovered through my group caffenol on deviantart. These are only the deviations from 2011, sometimes you have to start in the past.

Vor einem Jahr habe ich den Schritt zur Selbstentwicklung meiner Analog Filme entschlossen. I möchte mit euch meine Erfahrung kurz teilen und vielleicht den caffenol hype wieder auferstehen zu lassen. Da die meisten bereits davon gehört haben sind es zwar alte Neuigkeiten.

– – –

unten ein paar Link zu den professionellen in dieser Angelegenheit

– – –

Es war eine bizarre Erfahrung mit caffenol. Normalerweise, mit allem Do-It-Yourself und Handwerk, wird man besser mit der Zeit. Für mich der erste Versuch mit einem caffenol Rezept hat funktioniert (ein paar Bilder unten) aber die Drei folgenden Versuche waren Misserfolge. Es war sehr enttäuschend nach all dieser Arbeit nur leere Rollen Film zu bekommen. Ich habe danach aufgegeben. Da ich nicht wusste wo genau ich Fehler gemacht habe. Aber ich habe die Ausrüstung immer noch griffbereit und glaube das die Erfahrung es Wert war. Für jeden Fotograf der Film benutzt und das Selbstentwickeln mal versuchen will ist vielleicht mit einem Kurs oder gemieteten Labor besser bedient als mit einem extensiven zu Hause entwickeln-Kit das man nur ein paar mal braucht.

– – –

Nun ein paar Bilder aus meiner Gruppe caffenol auf deviantart. Das sind die Bilder von 2011, manchmal muss man in der Vergangenheit anfangen.

by katworks
by Foto-Flederratte
by whitestar98
by sethlamden
by caffenol-bandit
by Stormblast
by postafrontale
by Al-Baum

Please also take a look at the proffessional caffenol blogs of

http://caffenol.blogspot.ch/

http://www.caffenol.org/

